Pipe Organ Database

a project of the organ historical society

Geo. H. Ryder (Opus 101, 1883)

Exhibited in the 1998 OHS convention(s)

Location:

St. George's Episcopal
200 W 4th Street
Leadville, CO 80461 US
Organ ID: 4891

Update This Entry

Status and Condition:

  • This instrument's location type is: Episcopal and Anglican Churches
  • The organ has been restored to a previous state.
  • The organ's condition is good, in regular use.
We received the most recent update for this instrument's status from Paul R. Marchesano on March 29, 2022.

Technical Details:

  • Chests: Slider
  • 11 ranks. 625 pipes. 2 manuals. 12 stops.
All:
  • Chest Type(s): Slider chests
  • Position: In side chambers at the front of the room. Facade pipes or case front visible.
We received the most recent update for this division from Database Manager on May 13, 2018.
Main:
  • Manuals: 2
  • Stops: 12
  • Position: Keydesk attached.
  • Manual Compass: 61
  • Pedal Compass: 27
  • Key Action: Mechanical connection from key to chest (tracker, sticker or mix).
  • Stop Action: Mechanical connection between stop control and chest.
  • Console Style: Traditional style with a keyboard cover that can be lifted to form a music rack.
  • Stop Controls: Drawknobs in horizontal rows on terraced/stepped jambs.
  • Combination Action: Fixed mechanical system.
  • Swell Control Type: Balanced swell shoes/pedals, not in standard AGO position.
  • Pedalboard Type: Flat straight pedalboard.
  • Has Combination Action Foot Trundles
We received the most recent update for this console from Paul R. Marchesano on March 29, 2022.
Paul R. Marchesano on March 29, 2022:

Persistent reports that the organ was delivered over Mosquito Pass by ox -cart, with the builder himself in attendance, have been solidly disproved by Michael Friesen. The instrument was undoubtedly delivered by rail, and according to The Leadville Daily Herald of Sunday, 13 August 188 2, the organ was "put in position by Mr. Worcester, of the firm of Worcester and Brown" of Leadville. Purchased for $2, 000, it was opened with a concert presented on Thursday, 10 August 1882.

A "surpliced choir of boys, about twenty in number," was introduced in 1888. The organ was originally installed in the rear of the church, and was moved to the chancel many years ago, at which time the casework was altered. Dewey Layton made extensive repairs to the instrument in 1971. -- from 1998 OHS Handbook

We received the most recent update for this note from Paul R. Marchesano on March 29, 2022.

Database Manager on May 07, 2018:
We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on May 13, 2018.

Database Manager on September 20, 2013:

Updated through online information from Ingrid Mager.

We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on April 09, 2020.

Database Manager on January 09, 2010:

Updated through on-line information from Amy Jo Martinson. -- This organ has a historical doctument framed and placed on the wall next to the console. Please contact Amy Jo Martinson for any further information or the church directly. Thank you very much!

We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on April 09, 2020.

Database Manager on July 22, 2007:

Updated through on-line information from Benn Gibson. -- I visited the church and played the organ in July 2007.

We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on April 09, 2020.

Database Manager on December 16, 2006:

Updated through on-line information from Paul Pinkosky. -- Was on vacation about a month ago and stopped by to explore the church; asked deacon if I could play the organ. It is an absolute delight -- a gem in a gem.

We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on April 09, 2020.

Database Manager on June 16, 2005:

Identified through information in Descriptive Catalogue of Superior Church Organs Manufactured by Geo. H. Ryder & Co., published in Boston, January, 1896. Dates are not included in the publication; the one given here is conjectural.

We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on April 09, 2020.

Database Manager on October 30, 2004:

Status Note: There 1997

We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on April 09, 2020.

Database Manager on October 30, 2004:

Erected by Mr. Worcester of Worcester and Brown. Extensive repairs in 1971 by Dewey Layton. [Citation number must be wrong on this or Leadville's Presbyterian.][Manager's Note: The citation number given above is correct. -- July, 2007]

We received the most recent update for this note from Database Manager on April 09, 2020.
1998 OHS Handbook: Open In New Tab
We received the most recent update for this stoplist from Paul R. Marchesano on March 29, 2022.

Instrument Images:

Chancel, Keydesk, and Pipe Facades: Photograph by William T. Van Pelt. Taken on 1997-05-04

Pipe Facade: Photograph by Ingrid Mager.

This instrument has been viewed 877 times.